Committee Responsibilities

The NCCRT Steering Committee responsibilities include the planning and implementation of NCCRT projects, as well as approving new NCCRT members.


Richard Wender, MD

Chair of the National Colorectal Cancer Roundtable

Dr. Richard Wender is Alumni Professor and Chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia. A graduate of Princeton University and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Dr. Wender directed the Family Medicine residency program at Thomas Jefferson for 10 years, became Vice Chair of the Department in 1995 and Chair in 2002.

Robert A. Smith, PhD

Steering Committee Co-Chair

Dr. Robert A. Smith is a cancer epidemiologist and Senior Director, Cancer Control at the National Office of the American Cancer Society in Atlanta, Georgia. He also is Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology at the Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University School of Medicine. His primary research interests are cancer epidemiology, evaluation of cancer prevention and early detection programs, multi-chronic disease models of preventive care, and quality assurance in the delivery of health services.

Lisa C. Richardson, MD, MPH

Steering Committee Executive Member

Lisa C. Richardson, MD, MPH serves as the Director of the Division of Cancer Prevention and Control in the National Center of Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). She is responsible for providing leadership and direction for all scientific, policy, and programmatic issues related to four national programs.


Keith Winfrey, MD, MPH

Candace Henley, MPH

Allison Rosen, MS

Michael Sapienza

Beverly B. Green, MD, MPH

Frank Colangelo, MD, M.S.-HQS, FACP

Laura Makaroff, DO

ACS Permanent Representative

Jordan Karlitz, MD


Cecelia Brewington, MD


Annie Thibault, MS


Karen E. Kim, MD, MS


Xavier Llor, MD, PhD